She is my sunshine

I want to express this through poetry but I’m afraid it’s too important to risk room for interpretation.

See, there’s this woman I’m in love with. Her name is Rebecca.

And I want her to be a part of my life, forever.

I want her to be as close to me as possible, forever.

And when she’s gone, though I still ache from the distance, I feel a powerful drive to get things done while she’s away. But only now because I know she will love me.

I just finished cleaning the house and deck. Cleaning out the hot tub, my office. And through all this was even able to get some work done, respond to some emails, do my laundry and even feed myself when I was ready to take a break. All in a matter of a few hours. I couldn’t believe how quickly I was able to get everything done. I swear, if you had seen how disastrous everything was you’d understand. I was sweeping spider webs off the walls. It’s like I’ve been living as a crypt keeper of an unkept crypt.

 

I always knew that women have historically been the driving force for men’s pursuits. Like sunshine is to flowers. But I never got to actually experience that before I met Rebecca. What I experienced was guilt trips whenever I’d succeed. Or jealousy whenever I’d get promoted. Requests to split everything in half as if we were both automatons. And never a team-like behavior that allowed a relationship to benefit from the gains that come from division of labor and talent. I can’t imagine what I would have been capable of if I had met someone like her sooner in my life. If we had gotten married. Then we’d both be millionaires by now.

But I’m going to start taking care of myself. I’m 39 but I’m suddenly feeling like I have 2/3 of my life left to go.

This next chapter is for you Rebecca. Because you RISE me up, you ROUSE me from slumber and you will REDEEM me.

In exchange, I will live up to the promises I’ve made to you and I will bend all my mental efforts in making sure I can take care of you and make you happy, productive and prosperous.


Written by soliloquiesonlove.wordpress.com © 2017

2 thoughts on “She is my sunshine

Leave a Reply

